Review: Elementals: The Head of Medusa by Michelle Madow || August 10

Hello everyone and welcome back to my blog! For today’s post I’ve decided to finally write up my long awaited Elementals 3 review. I originally finished this book back in June and was able to participate in the blog tour hosted by Barclay Publicity but I never got to putting a review up for it. So here it is!

This will be my first review split into spoiler and non-spoiler sections. I thought I’d start doing this because there are quite a few books that I review on my blog that a majority of you haven’t read.

IMG_3963[1]

Spoiler Free Section

Even though this is a spoiler free section, I would recommend only reading on if you have read the first two books in the series. But, if you would like to continue reading this section, here are some quick and brief summaries about book 1 +2:

Book 1: Elementals: The Prophecy of Shadows = A YA novel following Nichole Cassidy as her family ventures to the town of Kinsley, where quite a bit of the population is witches. And, it turns out so is Nichole! Follow Nichole as she learns how to control her powers alongside her friends, the Elementals.

*click here to read the whole synopsis on Goodreads*

*click here to go to Michelle’s site where you can get a free eBook copy for a limited time*

Book 2: Elementals: The Blood of The Hydra = In the second edition of the Elementals series, Nichole and her friends venture across the world to Greece where they battle creatures from Greek mythology. Follow them as they make new friends and try to save the world.

*click here to real the whole synopsis on Goodreads*

So now that you guys have a little knowledge about the first few books in this series, lets get on with the review!

Synopsis: When Nicole Cassidy moved to a new town, she discovered that she was a witch descended from gods. But that was nothing compared to learning that it was up to her and four others with mysterious elemental powers to help save the world from the Titans, who would soon return to Earth.

Now her relationship with Blake — the fire Elemental — is finally heating up. But she must remain focused, because Typhon, one of the deadliest creatures in history, has escaped from the weakening prison world. Only one object can destroy him — the head of Medusa herself.

Follow the Elementals as they journey to the end of the Earth, facing choices that will put their lives and the entire world at risk. Will they all survive the mission? Find out in the riveting third book in the Elementals series, The Head of Medusa.

You fly through these books so fast that you don’t even notice when your almost finished them! They are very fast paced and enjoyable while also being able to bring you to tears.

The Head of Medusa may not be my favorite of the series but, it definitely doesn’t disappoint. If you like Percy Jackson, definitely pick up this series! They both follow the worlds of demigods and Greek Mythology! And, you will for sure fall in love with certain characters *Blake*.

So, if you are a fan of Greek Mythology and are lookin for a new series based around it, definitely try Elementals!

Now, if you are only here for the spoiler free section, it’s your time to leave! Don’t forget to like, comment and follow!

Spoiler Section

I have absolutely fallen in love with each and every one of the books in this series! Michelle’s writing is very addicting and leaves you caught up in the words for hours. The Head of Medusa has left the same impression on me as the rest of the series. Speechless. There are quite a few things that happened in the novel that I didn’t want to happen but, overall it was amazing!

When I first received a copy of this book from Barclay Publicity (thank you), I was over the top ecstatic! I basically freak out in excitement every time Barclay sends me an eBook copy of Michelle’s books. So of course, the book lover that I am, I dropped all of the other books that I was currently reading and dived straight into this one! I totally do not regret doing that.

Instead of staying in Kinsley or going all the way to Greece, the Elementals ventured t Antarctica and California. It was different, but definitely an enjoyable change from being in Greece.

At the very beginning, we got to go and spy in on Nichole and Blake’s little date over fondue. *quietly squeals*. I’ve been waiting so long for them to get together and it’s finally happening! But, I still feel really bad for Danielle. Although she had her chance with Blake already, I thought they were really good for each other!

When they went on the journey to Antarctica, I was overly ecstatic! It was quite a different tale than the one in Greece but Michelle incorporated the Greek mythology so well! But, I really hated reading about the Elementals in the cold. Although it does get cold in Kinsley, it’s way colder in Antarctica. Having to put images in my mind of how cold they looked was terrible but, at least they had Blake. So all in all, they stayed somewhat warm!

I couldn’t believe it when they all tried for the sword! They only got 3 chances. The lady in the ice castle seemed nice at first but quickly became extremely cruel. But I seriously couldn’t believe that Danielle was the one to pull the sword out. I thought it would’ve been Nichole!

Now, I was kind of curious as to when Medusa would first appear in the book but, of course Michelle wrote her as a sculpture maker. Sounds like something a present day Medusa would do. But, I was so happy that the Elementals got to travel again (all the way to California!). And of course, what kind of ending would it be if the Elementals didn’t succeed again. Well, partially.

I was completely devastated when Kate became a stone statue. She was my favorite character through out the series and now she’s gone! I’m keeping my hopes sky-high right now that the Elementals figure out a way to save Kate. But, as of right now I’m going to leave it as RIP KATE.

And could anyone believe what happened at the ending? I couldn’t. I felt so bad for Nichole as she had to watch Blake walk through the portal to Kerberos. But, I just know that Nichole, Chris and Danielle will be able to bring Blake back and hopefully save Kate!

5/5 stars

Until next time, Happy Reading!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

