Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

“We’re all good until we’re not strong enough to be anymore.”

The Murder Complex is a gruesome, hell-bent novel that is a must-read for all YA readers. Perfect for the Halloween season or else you’ll be having a day of bloody fighters. Lindsay Cummings works magic with her debut novel.

The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex, #1)Information:

Title/Author: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Release Date: June 10, 2014

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Page Count: 398

ISBN: 9780062220004

Buy The Book:

Synopsis:

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

My Thoughts:

When I first saw this book, the first thing that popped into my head was violence. Lot’s of bloody, murderous violence. But, it wasn’t as terribly violent as I had previously thought.

I saved this book to read around Halloween since I wanted something slightly scary to read during the scariest time of year. It was definitely a good idea to pick this up during Halloween because of everything that happens in it. Of course, I’ve already mentioned the violence in this novel but it was also quite the heartbreaker. This book made me shed some huge tears before it was over.

This book started out like any other dystopian: a young girl, trying to survive in the darkest of times. But this one turned in a bit of a different direction. We follow Meadow Woodson as she’s doing whatever is possible to help care for her family: including working in the dangerous city. But on the other hand, we also follow Zephyr James who is an assassin programmed to kill Meadow. When they meet, only bad things can happen.

This book was extremely captivating and fast-paced. The storyline was very intriguing and similar to Divergent. Both sides of the story were very different but weirdly alike. Both would do anything for the ones they love and to protect themselves. But oddly, they were enemies. And being together would cost them everything.

I loved Lindsay’s writing style. It’s super fast-paced, flows and makes you very anxious to continue. She’s also definitely a cliffhanger writer. Every single chapter ended in a cliffhanger, leaving me with very sleepless nights while reading this. But I don’t regret it whatsoever since it was amazing and I can’t wait to pick up more of her books!

So many deaths and tragedies occurred in this novel. So many times to cry out buckets of tears. If Lindsay is anything, she is definitely a writer who can make people cry. This book was written so beautifully and I cannot wait to read the next book in the series.

I gave this book a 4/5 stars and highly suggest that everyone grabs this book as soon as possible. It is an amazing thriller that cannot be missed. I hope you all enjoyed this post. Be sure to like, comment and share this post!

Happy Reading!

~Alaina

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s