DNF REVIEW: The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray

DNF REVIEW-.png

The Sweet Far Thing (Gemma Doyle, #3)Information:
Title/Author: The sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray
Series: Gemma Doyle #3
Release Date: December 26, 2007
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Fantasy
ISBN: 9780385730303

IT HAS BEEN A YEAR OF CHANGE since Gemma Doyle arrived at the foreboding Spence Academy. Her mother murdered, her father a laudanum addict, Gemma has relied on an unsuspected strength and has discovered an ability to travel to an enchanted world called the realms, where dark magic runs wild. Despite certain peril, Gemma has bound the magic to herself and forged unlikely new alliances. Now, as Gemma approaches her London debut, the time has come to test these bonds. The Order – the mysterious group her mother was once part of – is grappling for control of the realms, as is the Rakshana. Spence’s burned East Wing is being rebuilt, but why now? Gemma and her friends see Pippa, but she is not the same. And their friendship faces its gravest trial as Gemma must decide once and for all what role she is meant for.

This is the third and final book in Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle trilogy. And in my opinion, it is the worst. I found that the book was too long and was written at a super slow, and non-entertaining pace. There was no way that I was going to suffer through the rest of the book, so I decided to DNF it.

I actually really enjoyed the first two books in this trilogy. They were magical and filled with rich history. The writing was formal and fast-paced and kept my attention all throughout. But none of that happened in The Sweet Far Thing. Although we still followed the same characters in the same world, there wasn’t a magical aspect about it. It was as if everything went to the drain between the two years it took to write this novel after Rebel Angels.

All in all, my biggest problem with this book was the writing and pace. As said before, both A Great And Terrible Beauty and Rebel Angels had a fast and addicting pace to them. But, The Sweet Far Thing lacked all of that. My biggest problem was that the first 50 pages were basically a play-by-play of what happened in the first two books. Nothing new actually happened in the book until after those 50 pages.

All of the action scenes in this novel were really slow, and not as thrilling as I’d hoped for them to be. I found that Libba Bray’s writing kept becoming more and more formal through the books and by the time we got to the final book, it was too formal to hold any action. In my opinion, it was written more like a historical romance.

I also started to not enjoy the characters anymore. They were all likeable and mysterious from the first book but, there wasn’t really any development over the series. They were basically the exact same Spence girl we read about at the beginning of the series. And with the way they acted, I couldn’t help imagining them as little ten-year-olds in my mind.

Although not every series need an element of romance, the lack of it in this storyline consistently disappointed me. When you look at the covers, all you see are the historical bodices and corsets that you would find on a romance cover. But, there is NO romance in these novels at all. Over time, you start to suspect that maybe something will happen between Gemma and Kartik, but once you hit the final book, that suspicion fades away.

Overall…

For all of the reasons above, I had to DNF this book. the series was ending on an unenjoyable level and I didn’t want to waste my time with this novel.I have so much free time to read this summer, and I really don’t want to waste it with books like this.

I ended up giving this book 1.5/5 stars instead of my usual 1 star review for DNF books. I read around 230 pages of this book and there were a few scenes that really caught my attention. But, nothing to leave me surprised or shocked.

If you’ve been wanting to give this series a go, definitely try the first two. I just wouldn’t suggest finishing the series. There have been people who have enjoyed all three books, but it just wasn’t for me.

Amazon | Chapters | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Happy Reading,
Alaina ❤

5 thoughts on “DNF REVIEW: The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray

  1. Book Princess Review (@_bookprincess_) says:

    Oh no! You didn’t even get to the craziest part of the book. That ending was SUCH a disappointment and literally made me want to throw my book across the room because it was so insane. But I could definitely see why you had to put it down. It had a much different feel to it than the other books, and everyone became super unlikable. Wonderful review!! (But honestly, if you’re never going to touch the book again, definitely read what happened at the end because it was insane). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jeanette says:

    I haven’t reread any book yet as I started buying books and read on a daily basis in January this year, but I wouldn’t mind doing it when I like the book alot and its been awhile since I read it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

