Let’s Talk: Re-reads

AN INFINITE BOOK WORLD (12).png

I recently re-read Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout, and I started thinking to myself “why don’t some people like re-reads?” I find them amazing and I thought I would share my thoughts on them today! I love re-introducing myself to my favorite books and series and re-reads are the easiest way to do it. So, today I am going to be sharing some of my pros and cons on re-reads.

Pros…

  1. You get to be re-introduced to a favorite book or series:
    Everyone has those 5 star books on their read list. But, have you ever anted to meet a certain character again, or live through a certain scene again? Although your introduction to a re-read book will not be the same as the first time, it might just be as good! Every once in a while, it’s nice to just sit down and cozy up with a book that you know you’re going to love. For me, that’s Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout.
  2. You may like the book even more than the first time:
    I have re-read my share of books over time, and sometimes I’ve ended up liking it better than the first time I read it. It doesn’t happen often, but it definitely does sometimes. For instance, I read Onyx twice when I was first reading through my bind-up of Lux: Beginning. I didn’t actually care for the book to much (BLAKE SUCKS). But when I read it for my third time, I surprisingly enjoyed it more.
  3. They are the best book slump defeaters:
    Once I figured out this trick, I started to re-read some of my favorite books when I felt a slump forming. My re-read that inspired this post was actually for this trick. Most people can’t go wrong with a re-read of their favorite book. Whether it’s just a few scenes or the whole book, it’s something that you’re used to reading. And that’s why it works magic with slumps!
  4. There’s a good chance that you will be able to find things that you didn’t realize in your first read-through:
    Kind of like hidden scenes, I guess. Authors write a lot of their content as the “main” story line. But, there is also a bunch of other scenes that are a little bit more in the background. They don’t blend into the main story line too much, which means that you might have missed them. This happens to me a lot when re-reading books and it always shocks me!

Cons…

  1. You may lose interest in it:
    This is probably the biggest problem with re-reading books. As said above, there’s a chance that you might enjoy it more. But, there is also a chance that you may lose interest in it. It’s a risk that you’re always taking with re-reads but, if you enjoyed it enough the first time, it’s a risk worth taking. I’ve re-read Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout four times and still love it as much as the first time!
  2. If it’s an ongoing series, it might make you crave the next book A LOT:
    Okay, I guess this one isn’t really a “con,” but a re-read might put you in a book hangover until the next book. Say you decided to give Lord of Shadows a re-read. And then you finish it a fall into a state of “needing the next book.” Well, you are slightly out of luck since the next book doesn’t come out until 2019.
  3. You may discover some plot holes in the author’s writing:
    We aren’t really prone to find these when we are speeding through a good book, but a re-read will do it. Although nobody likes when they find these, they happen and we all get over it. This con definitely isn’t as bad as the first one, but nobody likes it!

And that’s about it for our second “Let’s Talk!” Do you ever re-read book? Leave a comment below telling me your favorite book to re-read. Mine is definitely Obsidian by Jennifer L.  Armentrout. I love all of the scenes in the book and I love getting to meet the amazing cast of characters again! Don’t forget to like, share and follow to stay up to date with all of my future posts!

Happy Reading,
Alaina ❤

 

12 thoughts on “Let’s Talk: Re-reads

  1. justbeingnessa says:

    I read a lot of books, the ones I know I ll love, like you said. I have read After by Anna Todd and the vampire Academy series a thousand times. Also the throne of glass series and the cross fire series. It really helps when I feel a slump coming.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. IAMAGEEKINGGINGER! says:

    I constantly reread books and I’ve never really got why people don’t reread books themselves. For me I’ve always liked the familiarity of reading something again, like bumping into an old friend. That probably sounds really cheesy. But this has made me think why people might not reread stuff. Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

